(Reuters) – Representatives from the United States, Britain, Qatar, Somalia, the United Arab Emirates and Turkey met on Tuesday and expressed concern at the conflict in and around Laascaanood, a disputed town in Somalia’s northern breakaway region of Somaliland, according to a statement released by the State Department.

“The partners expressed concern about the ongoing conflict … and called on all parties to adhere to the ceasefire, de-escalate, allow unhindered humanitarian access, and engage in constructive and peaceful dialogue.” it said.

At least 34 people were killed in clashes between soldiers and anti-government fighters in the town earlier this month.

(Reporting by Costas Pitas in Los Angeles; Editing by Edmund Klamann & Shri Navaratnam)

Political Cartoons on World Leaders

Copyright 2023 Thomson Reuters.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *